Most City offices will be closed Monday, Jan. 21, in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day. There will be no interruption in trash pickup.

Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone Board

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone, or TIRZ, was created in 2006 to preserve the near- and long-term integrity of the economic and social investment in the designated area and to encourage additional new projects within that area. The TIRZ board makes recommendations related to that mission and those efforts to the City Council. The TIRZ board was reorganized by ordinance on May 18, 2016. The details of the new TIRZ board are outlined below.


The TIRZ district has two eligibility areas for incentives: the TIRZ-North and the TIRZ-South. Within these areas, a variety of incentive types are available to encourage revitalization and infill development of properties in these key locations. 

Eligible applicants may only apply for incentives during an open window cycle.  The next cycle for both the North and South Zones will open November 1st, 2018.  Please review the TIRZ North Policy and TIRZ South Policy to see if your business or property qualifies.  If you qualify, please fill out the applicable North or South application, budget worksheet and all required documents listed within the application.  All documents must be turned into Shannon Scott in the Economic Development Department by January 2nd, 2019.  Shannon can be reached at 325-653-7197 for any questions.  

Meeting times and board composition

The board generally meets at 3 p.m. on the fourth Tuesday of the month in the South Meeting Room of the McNease Convention Center, 501 Rio Concho Drive. Agendas are posted on this website and at City Hall, 72 W. College Ave. For questions regarding the board meetings, agendas or board composition, contact Planning & Development Services Director Jon James at 325-657-4210.

The TIRZ board consists of nine members.

  • Jim Cummings - Chairman -- Mayor
  • Casey Barrett -- SMD1
  • Toni Hunter --  SMD 5
  • Jason Fernandez -- SMD 3
  • Dudra Butler -- SMD 4
  • Lee Pfluger - Vice Chairman - TGC -1
  • Mike Biggerstaff --TGC - 2
  • Greg Gayler -- SMD 2
  • Vacant -- SMD6

Membership requirements include the following:

  • Six members appointed by the City Council from those who own property within the zone; appointees of Council members representing Districts 2, 3 and 4 shall live, work and/or own property within the TIRZ-North. Appointees of Council members representing Districts 1, 5 and 6 shall live, work and/or own property within the TIRZ-South.
  • One member appointed by the mayor.
  • Two members shall be appointed by the Tom Green County Commissioners' Court.

In addition, there shall be five non-voting, ex-officio members who will attend and participate in an advisory capacity. Each one of the five will be a representative of each of the following organizations:

  • San Angelo Chamber of Commerce -- Vacant
  • Downtown San Angelo, Inc.-- Del Velasquez
  • San Angelo Independent School District -- Dr. Jeff Bright
  • Goodfellow Air Force Base -- Kevin Bruce
  • Angelo State University -- John Klingemann

Board members may serve up to three terms of two years each. For the initial board member appointments made by the City Council, four shall be for a two-year term, and three for a three-year term. For the initial board member appointments made by the County Commissioners' Court, one shall be for a two-year term, and one for a three-year term.

Board members

Anyone interested in serving on the board should contact the City Clerk's office on the second floor of City Hall or call 325-657-4405 for more information. For additional board information, contact the board liaison, Planning & Development Services Director Jon James at 325-657-4210.

North Chadbourne Streetscape Project


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer